Tags

, , , , , , , ,

293798_10100620906191537_1053675280_n

It is no secret that for the last five years of my life, I have been a little bit of a nomad. I have moved multiple times, started life from scratch, knowing literally no one in the city, and I’d like to believe that I’ve thrived. It hasn’t been easy though. In fact, if I wasn’t such an eternal optimist with sometimes highly unrealistic expectations out of people and life, I probably would be depressed or have gone back to Toronto by now. Life hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing in the past five years. I think it would even be safe to say it has been the MOST challenging in my 27 years of living.

The exciting aspect of moving and traveling often overshadows the very real obstacles that you need to face living this kind of a life. I look at my medical school friends who’ve had ridiculous rotations all over the country and I wonder how they do it. I mean it definitely helps to know people and be in a program where you’re essentially forced to work with other people of similar ages and career goals so I imagine it might be a little easier, but still.

It’s difficult to watch your childhood friends lead completely different lives that don’t involve you in any way. It’s a reality and I expected it, but it’s never an easy pill to swallow. If you have great friends like I do, it is definitely easy to pick up where you left off every time you visit but when you’re away, it’s never easy to see life back home continue without you. Meanwhile, you’re in a foreign place where you know no one or have started to form brand new relationships which of course come with that risk of betrayal. By the time you start to get close to these individuals, your nomad tendencies kick in and you’re out of there.

I made some unbelievable friendships in Tampa. But I started my life there knowing no one. It was a pretty lonely existence until I happened to meet the most wonderful people who became like my family. Leaving them was definitely one of the hardest things I’ve done, but that’s just how life is. Delaware has been interesting, to say the least. Being single here and setting up my own furniture, dealing with apartment flooding, and moving to a new place all by myself made me come to the reluctant realization that…maybe I do need a man in my life. Not a very happy realization for Ms. Independent Woman Prutha haha.

Despite all this hardship though, I must say I have LOVED this part of my life. I’ve learnt lessons about friendships, relationships and people like never before. I’ve failed so many times, yet have been pleasantly surprised to find that I have a lot of fight in me, and quite frankly, an innate stubbornness that never allows me to quit. I’ve met amazing people. I’ve lost amazing people. I’ve fought inner demons that only I know about. It’s been a ridiculously wild ride. But I am proud to say I haven’t left a place without making my mark. I’ve learnt that no matter how shit life seems at a point, it can definitely be shittier and that I’m lucky. And while the most heart-breaking part of being a nomad is leaving people behind, I have also made some absolutely fantastic friendships all over the country which I would not have made if I hadn’t lived like this.

One day I’ll stop moving, I know that. But when I do it gives me some comfort knowing I will have formed amazing bonds with amazing people, and that not everyone gets to be so lucky.

