Tags

, , , , , , , ,

princesses_outtake

There was once a little girl who watched every Disney movie that came out, from Cinderella to Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast to the Lion King, and whole-heartedly believed in the power of true love, soulmates, Prince Charming, and the triumph of good over evil. As a teenager she devoured movies like The Notebook and Serendipity, convinced that her Noah was sure to come along and sweep her off her feet in her teens, that they’d date into their twenties, and they’d get married and live happily ever after in their mid-twenties.

Life had other plans for her though.

While fall in love she did, no Disney movie really prepared her for an important life lesson in reality: gut-wrenching, earth-shattering heart break. No one warned her that girls and boys develop rather differently and are taught very different things at very different points in their lives. That they mature at different speeds. Her lessons in calculus and literature did not include a ‘How to Pull Yourself Out of Self-Esteem Depleting, Nauseating Heartbreak Agony’ textbook that probably would have saved her a crapload of tears, Heavenly Hash ice cream binge sessions, and general overall discomfort, to say the least.

I am not referring to any one girl in particular but to a significant proportion of the female population. It is my firm belief that as children we are sometimes fed some really idealistic, fantastical BS about life, love and relationships. I wish someone had taught me that while my prince may be charming at first, he has the potential to cheat, lie, be abusive, and/or walk out on me, and that if any of these do happen, that I am a strong, independent, amazing young woman with fantastic potential and that I will survive magnificently without him. And that another man will always be able to take his place as long as I let him.

These are lessons we as women in our late twenties have learnt the hard way, but I can’t help but wonder how much better our lives would have been without all the unnecessary drama and crying associated with desperately broken hearts. It just seems like such a waste of time and energy to me, looking at the whole thing retrospectively.

I am absolutely not blaming men but society in general for this though. I won’t pretend to understand the male psyche or some of the decision-making mechanisms that drive men. I understand they are wired differently and that most of them do mature at a slower rate. No joke – the amount of guys that at the age of 23-25 that were running around wreaking havoc in our lives that are now desperate to settle down at the ages of 27-30+ is astonishing to me. So no, I’m not complaining about men really. I guess I’m a little concerned that my daughter may have to deal with some of the crap I had to, and I sincerely DO NOT want her to go through that.

Could someone create a Disney movie with a cheating Prince Charming that Cinderella dumps because she’s this amazing, empowered young woman? And then she follows her lifelong passion of healing people and becomes a pediatric neurologist or something? I don’t know. It might get a little heavy for the children haha.

