Tags

, , ,

I don’t know what it’s like to be a mom. But I do know what it’s like to be a daughter to one of the most amazing mothers in the world. I am, of course, highly biased in my opinion here, but so are the rest of you. I know I’m lucky. Incredibly lucky. So many out there have lost their moms. I cannot imagine the unbearable void. So many have moms that have left them, or don’t really care for them. That must be even worse, in some ways. So many have never even known their mothers. So yes, I know I’m extremely lucky.

This post is dedicated to her. The woman behind my values, my confidence, my love of life and others. The woman who has raised me to be an independent, ambitious, caring young lady who isn’t afraid to speak her mind. The woman who has sacrificed everything from a few hours of sleep to a good hair day, just to be an amazing mother to my brother and I. The woman who continues to support me no matter how much I fail, urging me to never give up on my dreams. The woman who’ll call me a billion times and then my friends if she can’t get in touch with me for one day. The woman who will uproot hell and Earth to right a wrong in my life.

God, I think back to the sheer magnitude of things my mother has done for me. I’m talking staying up all night making a costume for me, or making every single thing I like to eat when I visit, or checking up on me constantly when she knows I’m having a horrible episode in my life, or magically producing the exact type of outfit I just had to have as an annoying teenager, or holding me as I cried over the stupidest little thing, or nursing me back to health through every sickness, or giving me the best advice of my life like..every..single..time.

It’s an amazing feeling, and one I’ve only fully come to appreciate in my twenties. It’s like having my own personal life coach, guardian angel, best friend, doctor, stylist, nutritionist, therapist and partner in crime, rolled into one incredible human being and only belongs to me. That does all of this for me. And doesn’t even ask for anything in return.

Yes, I realize how truly lucky I am to have her.  I know not everyone is so lucky. So today I cherish her and hope she knows how much I love her. I only hope that one day I could be as amazing a mother as her.

Happy Mother’s Day!

